Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Skincare Aware
|

Interested in face masks—don’t know where to start

hiii, I’m relatively new to skincare, and one of the biggest things I’ve noticed is like how expensive face masks are 😅 and also how do I know which one is good for me. Help 💀

Re: Interested in face masks—don’t know where to start

Ughhh face masks are the best! Especially if you’re finding your skin needs a last minute pick-me-up. Research your skin type before starting to look into masks but I’m a dry skin gal with some eczema on my cheeks, especially going into fall/winter so I always keep an eye out for more hydration masks that are minimal fragrance so they don’t irritate my skin and something with super great ingredients. Always read ingredients!

I’ve been recently LOVING the Topicals - Like Butter mask for hydration, as well Dermalogica has some super awesome options for all different skin types. Lastly, the Sunday Riley makes are always sooo nice on the skin.

Sheet masks are fun too but they’re basically just one big serum sheet so I’d rather apply my serums directly from a bottle (The Ordinary Hyaluronic Acid for example) and then layer a physical cream mask over that to help push the serum in for extra benefit!

enjoy your self care journey 😚

Hi there @nerdyliz! 👋🏼 I hear ya! When I first started getting more into skincare, it was easy to get overwhelmed by sheer amount of products out there, and the price too! It can be a lot even now, but it’s something I’ve gotten a better handle on over time. Narrowing down the masks that would be best suitable for you depends on a few factors, including 

• skin type (normal, dry, oily, combination)
  • skin concerns (sensitive, dehydrated, acne-prone, enlarged or clogged pores, blackhead, redness, dullness, firming, etc.)
  • preferred price point or price range (under $20, $20 - $35, $35-$50, over $50, etc.)