Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Skincare Aware
|

Curious about resurfacing masks

I've never used a resurfacing mask before but have recently bought a product that isn't available here. I'm a bit nervous to use it. It has rave reviews but I'm still worried about how my skin will react. Also I can't find anything about whether it's safe to use on active breakouts. I'm dealing with a lot of hormonal acne that doesn't seem to want to let up. It has AHA and BHA in it. Does anyone know if that's safe for acne?

Re: Curious about resurfacing masks

Biggest call out is patch test! especially with new products and not knowing what your skin is used to in terms of what % acid your used to using that'll at least let you check for irritation. 

As for using it on acne I think it depends a bit on the kind of acne and how severe it is. If it's an open wound it will BURN and in general acids might tingle but shouldn't actually burn. If you feel pain or any discomfort just wash the product off ASAP.

Can I ask what product you purchased? 

@meou  I got Peach & Lily super reboot resurfacing mask. I will do a patch test for sure. Thanks!

@Redtroop  You should be okay to use that on active acne (although to be 100% you should chat with a dermatologist) - if you feel any discomfort wash that off immediately! 

The Peach and Lily isn't one of the super high % AHA (it's less then some leave on treatments) and has some soothing ingredients like aloe and centella. It looks like a great product 😄

@meou I ended up using the peach & lily mask and it was great! Just a little tingle and the minute I removed it I could feel/see a difference. Can't say it helped my horrible breakouts, but I didn't expect it to really. My skin just seemed more even toned and so smooth. Appreciate your input!