Free Classes

Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Brand Loyal
|

Does the brand makeup brush really make a difference?

• How much does quality of brushes make a difference in applying makeup? Will spending $100 on a foundation brush really make a difference in one’s appearance after applying? Or is it only important to but a good quality brush when applying eyeshadow? (I’m new to the art of makeup and contouring ect. I’ve been doing my same routine since high school and even less makeup after covid pandemic. I want to learn more about makeup artistry! Just curious if it’s worth it to spend more to get a better result? I feel better when I look good , and thank goodness there’s Sephora products to help me do this… now I just need to learn!) 

Re: Does the brand makeup brush really make a difference?

@SweetD333, I don't think you have to spend a lot for a good brush, but I think there is something to be said for quality and price point.  Like, some of my natural hair eyeshadow brushes disperse the most stubborn of products because of how they are made (density, angle) vs brushes I would get as a set or included with a product.  Also, cost can be relative, because when I was younger, I thought SC were expensive!  I was not making much, so $16-25 for one brush was a lot!  Now, I don't find them to be a costly, but even then it's still an investment. 

I think the ease of applying makes a brush worthwhile.  It can make a difference when you haven't gotten the technique down yet, or if you need to do something quickly.  I would recommend just watching videos with face shapes similar to your own and see what they use.

Thank you for your advice! I definitely want easier application and more dispersal! I’ll keep in mind to try natural hair brushes now.

What’s your favorite brand for brushes that is less expensive? Fav more expensive brand?