Free Classes

Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Age Defiers

Retinol

Can I  use retinol if I currently use Estee Lauder's Advanced Night Repair Syncronized Repair serum?

Can I  use Vitamin C?

What about AHA?

I'm totally new to these products but have been reading about it and believe it's time I invest in my skin care.....at 65!

I have kind of sensitive skin.

Re: Retinol

Hi @unisolar55 ! Yep, you can use retinol with all 3 of those things. 

If you’ve never used retinol or AHA before, don’t introduce them both to your skin at the same time. Pick one, use it just once or twice a week for a few weeks, and then gradually increase usage over time. Once your skin’s tolerating it well, add the second product and go through the same gradual buildup process with it. 

Which AHA product(s) are you considering? If it’s a leave-on exfoliant or high % toner, I recommend capping usage at 3 times a week. I use mine just 1-3 times a week. I use an OTC retinol serum every other night, so I frequently layer it with my AHA exfoliant. 

I use a vitamin C serum in the morning, as a way to prep my skin for the day’s environmental stressors/pollutants. But you can absolutely layer vitamin C and retinol if you want. 

Do you also use a sunscreen with minimum SPF of 30? If you use retinol, AHA, or vitamin C, you’ll also need sunscreen during the day. AHA increases your skin’s sun sensitivity. Vitamin C is very sensitive to light (and air). And really, there’s no point using retinol or vitamin C to reduce sun damage like hyperpigmentation and wrinkles if you’re not also going to stop the sun from undoing their hard work and doing new damage. 

Thank you so much for your answer. I will start with a retinol serum for now.  Any product suggestion and/or recommendation?