Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Skincare Aware
|

Skincare routine

Please please please recommend a simple skincare routine. I’m in my 40’s ... There are so many choices and brands that it is overwhelming!!!

im a nurse and work long hours wearing a mask all day. My skin is combination. I struggle with broken capillaries, dullness, uneven skin tone, fine lines and wrinkles... none of the above are terrible but it’s time to start a routine...my biggest concern is puffy eyes!!!!! I want as few products as possible 

Re: Skincare routine

@missyrawls76 I rec tackling one thing at a time so that you don't feel overwhelmed.  An easy place to start might be with the puffiness.  I've read on BIC that The INKEY List Caffeine De-puffing + Dark Circle Eye Cream 0.5 oz/ 15 mL is a good one to decrease puffiness.

For fine lines and wrinkles, AHA, retinol and antioxidants are a great place to start.  For AHA, Paula's Choice Skin Perfecting 8% AHA Gel Exfoliant 3.3 oz/ 100 mL is good.  I use 10% by Alpha Skin Care.  For antioxidants, I like Paula's Choice Pore Purifier* (not sold at Sephora) and First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair® Hydrating Serum (although I liked it better *before* they took out the peptides!).  For retinol, a good beginner one is First Aid Beauty FAB Skin Lab Retinol Serum 0.25% Pure Concentrate 1 oz/ 30 mL .  Start slow with it 🙂

I don't have a good one size fits all product for evening out skin tone, but for me a game changer was a more gentle cleanser.  I've been using First Aid Beauty Pure Skin Face Cleanser .  

*This should also help with dullness.  Niacinamide is also known for making skin brighter, although it didn't make much of a difference for me.  The INKEY List Niacinamide Oil Control Serum 1 oz/ 30 mL is a good one.  I also like Youth To The People Adaptogen Soothe + Hydrate Activated Mist with Peptides 4 oz/ 118 mL for more glow-y skin.