Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Makeup Is Life
Anonymous Insider

Overwhelmed

I have no idea where to begin! I'm new to makeup, and all of the options are so overwhelming. I want to make sure that I'm buying the right shades of everything for the most flawless fit to my skin tone, face structure, and eyes! I'm interested in putting in a large initial investment into all of the fundamental face necessities to include all of the tools (brushes, sponges). Looking for someone to essentially help with an itemized shopping list so to speak.

I am split right down the middle between Scandinavian descent, and italian. I have blue eyes and i'm pasty white in the winter and tan nicely in the summer. That info may or may not help. Thanks! 

RE: Overwhelmed

Welcome! It really is overwhelming. I’m not an expert like many of the wonderful people here but Ive found that it’s a lot of trial and error. I’ve tried things and if I like them, I buy more. Do you have a local Sephora? That’s how I started. I went in for some undereye concealer and had a store associate help me with a few options and tell me what kind of brush I needed. If you went in for a makeover they could do a colour IQ on you to determine what shades will work with your skin tones. I’ve tried a few foundations over the years. I’ve found that I love Tarte because I bought one lipstick and loved it so I continued to try their products. But There are many other brands I use. As for brushes, I typically use the Sephora pro airbrush brushes. They aren’t the cheapest and they aren’t the most expensive. There was only one that I bought that I didn’t like. Hopefully this was at least a little helpful for you but I know you will get some great responses from this community. Best of luck!

Re: Overwhelmed