Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Makeup Is Life
|

New to makeup

I'm new to makeup and I have many questions. I don't to wear a lot I would just like to wear concealer, highlighter, mascara and I think that's it. I don't know what shade concealer should be in. How light does it need to be? or does it need to be the same color as my skin tone? And what is a good brand to use for concealer? And what is a good brand for highlighter? I also might want to use bronzer but I'm not sure. Should I use bronzer? If so what  brand and how dark does it have to be? I also had a question about dermaplaning. Has anyone done is before? Do you have any tips? And for mascara I had lashes that have no volume and so does anyone have any mascara recommendations for me? also what kind of brushes and tools would i need for applying? 

Re: New to makeup

Hi 👋 

For concealer, you will want to match your skin tone since you are not using foundation. Using a lighter shade is really only for brightening under the eyes in a full coverage look. It looks odd if you are going for a natural look. The NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer  is a great beginner concealer for under the eyes. I also love the Kosas Revealer Super Creamy + Brightening Concealer with Caffeine and Hyaluronic Acid  for that area but it can run yellow. I have olive skin and I still use the “peach” shades.   

Becca makes great powder highlighters. Rare Beauty by Selena Gomez Positive Light Liquid Luminizer Highlight are great for a more subtle highlight.