Free Classes

Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Fragrance Fans

New to Fragrance--How Do I Start?

Hi, everyone! I'm new (like, super brand new, just received a sample and fell in love and want to try everything) to the world of fragrance and am trying to work out what would be the best option for me to start with. I received a sample of Juliette Has A Gun's "Pear Inc." with a purchase and fell head over heels for it, and want to try and find that and other fragrances that I really like. Perfume is...super expensive and I'm a student with a part time job, so I can't exactly accumulate a big collection, but I hardly even know where to start when it comes to finding one or two bottles to stick with. I've discovered I like what seems to be called "gourmand", fruity, and citrusy scents, and some floral (just from research and past experience with lotions, body sprays, etc.) and I don't really care whether something is masculine or feminine or unisex, but there's so many options it makes my head spin. Where do I start? Do you have any recommendations for a total newbie? Thanks in advance (and please be kind--I know I come off a bit dumb, but I really am lost and excited).

Re: New to Fragrance--How Do I Start?

@madhattermads yay! It's so exciting to discover the world of fragrances 🙂 Absolutely you can explore fragrance on a budget. Try your best to smell broadly and widely and as @SportyGirly125 advises, you can do this at beauty counters, testing first. You can also snag free samples when you can at places like Sephora and department stores. Some houses sell samples online and there are also websites where you can purchase samples and decants easily, especially if you live in the US.