Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Combination Skin
|

Help

I am new to skincare. I got a few products about almost 2 weeks ago and they have worked fairly good for me. I also started integrating retinol cream into my skincare routine, my skin started "purging" as it was peeling in some parts and I got 1 or 2 small zits. It did not hurt so I googled it and google seemed to say it was purging due to my new skincare routine and retinol. Eventually, it went away. 

The problem was when I used one of my samples I got from the rewards bazaar. I got the DRUNK ELEPHANT Slaai Makeup-Melting Butter Cleanser and used it one night to remove my makeup and then used my cleanser after to take off the rest of my makeup. I did not feel any irritation of any kind that night. In the morning, I used my cleanser and realized I was peeling around my eye area. When I went to put on my toner and moisturizer, my face was stinging and red. It stopped shortly after once the moisturizer settled in. When I put on concealer, it was stinging again. I was not sure if it was normal or what the cause was since I did not think the melting butter cleanser would be harsh to my skin. Later that night, I used it again to take off my makeup, when i used my cleanser and moisturizer after, it started stinging again and my face was red when I washed the melting butter cleanser off. I realized it might be that product causing irritation to my skin. I googled skin irritation and assumed I could maybe be having an allergy to the product so I proceeded to wash my face with cold water and leave it without putting anything on it to avoid irritating my skin further. 

Today, my skin feels dry and sensitive. I used a soap on my face that is hypoallergenic and it did not sting. I also proceeded to use a moisturizer also for sensitive skin that is hypoallergenic and my face felt okay.