Free Classes

Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Brand Loyal

Think I got matched wrong for Fenty Beauty

So this is my first time ever posting in the Sephora community forums so bear with me.

A couple of weeks ago I went to Sephora to try and potentially buy the Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Foundation that I've been hearing rave reviews about since its launch. For the last several years I've worn Make-Up Forever's Ultra HD Foundation in Y255 and while that has worked well for me, I wanted to try something new. I got matched by a Sephora consultant and went to buy it online since they didn't have my shade (260) in the store. I liked the coverage the foundation provided me and the texture and it looked reasonable under the Sephora lighting.

I normally don't wear much make up unless I'm going out somewhere or just on weekends because I work-out a lot and don't want to clog my skin that's been going through a rough patch with me lately and I'm too lazy sometimes. Anyway so the first time I wore it outside it looked nice and my friends liked it but it was at night under low lighting. The second time, was last night going out for dinner with the family and then I noticed the extremely stark comparison between my face and my neck (I did blend into my neck but normally I've never had to do that for Make Up Forever and again it was still noticeable). The 260 shade was at least 2-3 shades darker than my neck (more like the color of my arms rather than my face).

I looked online at Sephora to try to see if I had a Color IQ match with a Fenty Shade and there was none for 2Y04- I think I took it in store- and weirdly enough the match that they gave me for Make-Up Forever (Y235) was lighter than the actual shade I use. Went one shade up in the Color IQ and it gave me Fenty Beauty 120 which is honest to god laughable.