Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Acne-Prone Skin
|

HELP

27 and I am new to skincare and makeup in general. Needing advice on a skincare routine. My skin is very oily most of the time and break outs happen often. Around my cheek areas it is very red and irritated. Help! Also some foundation recommendations would be cool and how do you even use concealer? Do you need to use it? And what is a setting spray? Do I need that too?

image.jpg

image.jpg

Re: HELP

Red and irritated?! I don’t see anything but beautiful skin I don’t see any irritation at all seriously unless maybe I’m not seeing the whole picture??? I just see beautiful smooth skin . I have very irritated skin I would give anything to have your skin!

Do you currently use any products, @AshBash0413 or are you starting completely from scratch?

Completely from scratch I’ve tried various Walmart brand face wash but nothing works 

@AshBash0413 Got it! So, since you're just starting out, I'd recommend getting a good basic routine down before you add in too many treatment products. That way you'll limit your change of irritation once you do start any of those. Since you're interested in wearing makeup, I'm going to start by highly recommending trying double cleansing at night. This involves using an oil-based cleaner to remove makeup and sunscreen and then following that with a gentle cream or gel cleanser. My favorite oil cleanser is Shiseido Perfect Cleansing Oil w/ Grape Seed Oil 10 oz/ 295 mL but there are lots of other good options for balms and oils. Clinique is also a popular choice. For cleanser, I'd recommend either philosophy Purity Made Simple, First Aid Beauty Pure Skin Face Cleanser 8 oz/ 237 mL, or Youth To The People Superfood Gentle Antioxidant Refillable Cleanser 16 oz / 473 mL. You can choose to use that cleanser just at night or in the morning as well as night. I'm just a night person myself.