Free Classes

Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Men Who Makeup

First Timer for makeup

I am new to all this and would like to have a consultation/lesson with a male makeup person. It looks like Sephora does not do this from what I can see. I am overwhelmed with what to do. Can anyone recommend where to go?  Thanks!

Re: First Timer for makeup

Believe me Kenny, this is a safe place full of helpful non-judgmental people. There are amazing artists out there whose work is phenomenal, but beware of feelings of intimidation from Youtube and Instagram. I adore Wayne Goss and he posted a "Warning" video a while back denouncing filters. In his wonderfully kind way, he angrily  demonstrated how filters can create a look that no human can emulate. I've been playing with makeup for 40 years and except for glorious episodes working in community theater, it's been about playing with my own face like a Kindergartner finger paints masterpieces only she or he appreciates. 

Now that Covid restrictions are lifting in many areas. I've noticed my local Sephora store is adding services, including 60 and 90 minute makeup consultations. I've typed a lot of words to simply say:  You're among friends here, have fun, get crazy, get sultry. Your face is your canvas and even though you haven't posted a picture yet, your face is beautiful because it's yours alone. 

@kennyr1234. Also consider that some Salons have a m.u. Artist available, at a price. Many hairdressers /stylists have had training in m.u. too. 

Is there a specific aesthetic you want? Good to be fairly focused when a consult is only x minutes. Do you want a refined, sleek matte look, or semi-sheer yet polished? Or something completely different?

Before having a consultation, you might find a useful framework and/or inspiration in a m.u. book. 

3 titles either in a local Library? or secondhand shop (maybe at thrift shop prices?):