Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Lip Lovers
|

Lipstick

Help! I am new to lipstick and wanting to start a collection, but I just don't know where to start. I need some for different occasions. 🙂

Tags:

Lipstick

@KateGalindo I've been building a lip collection too! I've been having fun shopping from the minis section just to try different brands/formulas/colors. So far I have really liked the Nars pencils and the ABH matte lipsticks
Anonymous Insider

Re: Lipstick

The Stilla and Makeup Forever lines are great. For price,Revlon & Elizabeth Arden are nice.

As someone who hadn't worn lipstick in years but recently started again, I feel your pain. I personally decided to start by looking for the following:

1. the perfect nude lip--after trying hundreds I've finally settled on two Charlotte Tilburry ones because I liked the feel of them on my lips (Nude Kate has a bit of a pink tone to it while Kim KW has a bit of an orange undertone) for daily wear and Chanel's Rouge Double Intensite Ultra Wear Lip Color in Merry Rose (Tender Biege is also good if you want something a tiny bit darker).
  2. a statement lip--I actually divided this into two categories, a traditional deep red and a purplish shade, but it all depends on what you like and what colors you typically wear in makeup and clothing. Either way, unless you love reapplying I'd stick to longer wearing formulas for your deep statement colors because it'll be some obvious if the wear off during an event. 
  3. A light lip--here I was thinking of things that work when you want a sort of ethereal look, on me that's pale purples or things with a slight silvered color
  4. a basic gold lip gloss
  5. something that will opalize your lipsticks--there are tons of good gloss options here.