cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Skincare Aware
|

skincare newbee

hi, 

Im brand new to taking care of my skin... as in... I wash my face, but thats it.

Where should I start when it comes to skin care? What sort of routine should I look at?

I have sensitive combination skin, oily nose and chin, and slightly dry forehead. 

What sort of things do you all do?

Re: skincare newbee

Start with the basics- cleanse and moisturize. In the mornings, you should wear sunscreen each day and in the evenings, if you wear makeup you'll need a makeup remover before your regular cleanser. Once you have that in place then you can add in serums, masks, and treatments, like exfoliating products. You'll need to have the moisturizer in place first though so you don't dry out your skin. 

I agree 100% about starting slow and giving each product you add to your routine at least a week to see how it works for you--obviously if it starts burning or you get an allergic reaction stop it right away and take some Benadryl. 

If if you don't yet have a cleaner you like, here are a couple of different formulas that people with sensitive skin swear by. 

Drug store Cleansers: (both recommended by dermatologist to people looking for so,etching basic and cheap that works for sensitive skin)

Cetaphil

CeraVe

Cetaphil isprobably the most popular of the two, a lot of users started with it in their teen years and then found it continued to work well for them as they aged. Neither this nor CeraVe is my favorite because I think they have a slightly odd scent that reminds of cold cream and it bugs, but for the $$ you won't find better. 

Slightly higher end cleansers-- think Ulta, Sephora or somewhere online like 

Drunk Elephant--both their Jelly cleanser and their Pekee bar are well liked, limited ingredient, nondrying choices