cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Skincare Aware
|

Vitamin C serum beginner

Hi! 

I've never used vitamin c serums before, but I really want to start adding it underneath my sunscreen for the summer. do you guys have any reccomendations of beginner friendly vitamin c serums that won't break the bank? from what I've heard this product is good, but I just wanted to get more opinions. The Ordinary Ascorbyl Tetraisopalmitate Solution 20% in Vitamin F 1 oz/ 30 mL

also is it okay to use a vitamin c serum in the morning if I used a chemical exfoliator at night? 

Re: Vitamin C serum beginner

@kunfa I’m on a similar hunt right now. Totally fine to use Vitamin C and exfoliators (AHA) as you’re describing. In fact, you may notice several Vitamin C formulations at Sephora which incorporate AHAs in them! So even in the same regimen can be fine, if your skin will tolerate it. 

As for The Ordinary product you’d mentioned, you’d have to order it to see... That brand is not available in stores for sampling. They have several Vitamin C products to choose from, and the super-affordable price point makes them an attractive place to start.

My skin is combination/oily, so I recently ordered their Ascorbyl Glucoside Solution 12%, which initially looked promising as it absorbed quickly and didn’t leave a greasy residue. Unfortunately, I experienced pretty bad pilling issues with it, so I had to return. I’m considering these now:

VOLITION BEAUTY - Strawberry-C Brightening Serum

TARTE - Youth or Dare Multi-Acid & C-Serum

SEPHORA COLLECTION - Ultra Glow Serum: Glow + Strengthen Vitamin C Serum

If your skin is more on the dry side and you don’t mind silicones, The Ordinary’s Vitamin C Suspension 30% in Silicone gets some good reviews as a daytime primer. There is also a new kid in town, The Inkey List, that has their Vitamin C cream – also in silicone. I believe those 2 products are comparable, and both under $10!