Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Skincare Aware
|

Skincare not making a change

I’m 15 and I have a lot of dark acne scars and marks, and my skin has uneven tone and hyperpigmentation and I have dark circles around my eyes. The products that I’ve been using are 

Morning Routine: Cerave Foaming Facial Cleanser, The Ordinary Ascorbic Acid 8% + Alpha Arbutin 2%, The Ordinary Hyaluronic Acid 2% + B5, The Ordinary Caffeine Solution 5% + EGCG, and lastly The Ordinary Natural Moisturizing Factors + HA

Night Routine: The Ordinary Squalene Cleanser, The Ordinary Hyaluronic Acid 2% + B5, The Ordinary Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1%, The Ordinary Lactic Acid 10% + HA, and lastly The Ordinary Natural Moisturizing Factors + HA

I've been using these products for over 4 months and there has been barely a change. I still have a lot of acne scars. Any recommendations?

Re: Skincare not making a change

Dermatologist can provide Retinol-based prescriptions that can help with a myriad of acne and skin related issues. Additionally, they can offer items that help your skin/hyperpigmentation heal.  Moreover, your Dermatologist likely has a great Sunscreen in the office (Usually Elta MD, which is pretty awesome!).

Your skin might not need all these products and they can be irritating your skin as well.  

Do you have active acne? 

You need to use a sunscreen because the products you are using are making you extra sensitive to sun damage and that will just make hyperpigmentation way worse. Also using lactic acid every night can make your skin really irritated.