cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Skincare Aware
|

Skincare ingredients

Hello Everyone,

I am fairly new to skincare products and was wondering if I can use the same ingredients (glycolic and lactic acid) in multiple steps on my routine (cleanser, toner, serum). In addition, I wanted to add a vitamin c serum, but I do not know if it’ll work together or what part of my routine to incorporate it in? Anything helps so thank you in advance.

Re: Skincare ingredients

@WinglessOne  Got it thank you I appreciate the help 

Hi @Yessilizbeth15 ! It depends on how much glycolic and lactic acid is in each of your products. Those are both AHAs (alphahydroxy acids) and it's easy to over-exfoliate your skin with them—especially glycolic acid—if you're new to AHAs. 

What's your skincare routine (brands + product names)? 

@WinglessOne 

Cleanser- Olehenriksen Find your balance oil control

Toner- Olehenriksen Glow 2OH Dark spot toner

Essense- Tatcha

Serum- Good Genes All in one Lactic acid treatment (night only)

eye cream- silk peony

moisturizer- the water cream tatcha

@Yessilizbeth15  After doing a quick search for "AHA percentage" of each product and a skim-through of their INCI lists, I have some thoughts: 

Cleanser - OLEHENRIKSEN Find Your Balance™ Oil Control Cleanser 5 oz/ 147 mL = the brand doesn't state the AHA %. Since it's a rinse-off product, it might be okay to use daily.* But consider adding a gentle hydrating cleanser to your routine that you can alternate with this one.