Free Classes

Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Skincare Aware
|

Looking for AHA/BHA serum or exfoliant suggestions!

I am new to the skin care realm and I am looking for recommendations for a good AHA/BHA Serum or chemical exfoliant treatment. Not a cleanser but something I can apply and leave-on after washing my face. I also pefer to have both AHAs and BHAs in the product. Thank you!

RE: Looking for AHA/BHA serum or exfoliant suggestions!

After trying a few brands (herbivore, the ordinary, Sunday Riley) my favourite has been Farmacy’s honeymoon glow It’s the only one that I saw a difference in my skin immediately I’ve got very oily, acne prone, sensitive skin My only issue was that it is very easy to over exfoliate (the bottle says to use 2-3 times a week) but I ended up getting tiny red dots all over my face after 2 months of doing that. After doing some research I learned it was from over exfoliation. I stopped using it for a month to give my skin some recovery and changed my routine to only using it once a week and my face is very happy with it 🙂

Murad

Re: Looking for AHA/BHA serum or exfoliant suggestions!

@emilygc 

On The Ordinary AHA 30% + BHA 2% Exfoliating Peeling Solution 1 oz/ 30 mL , I really like this product and aside from Dr. Dennis Gross Skincare Alpha Beta Glow Pad for Face , (which I've only tried in-store), there are the only peels I can speak to.  The percentage is high, but past the first 15-30 seconds it stings, but then it's pretty okay for me after that.  I felt like the day after my skin looked brighter and whatever acne was present, it had dried out

I spot tested it first though, which is what you should do with your skincare.  I never used to spot test, until I realized my skin became really sensitive (who knows why) a few years ago.  So whatever you pick, maybe spot test 1-2 formulas and see what you like.