From makeovers to personalized skincare consultations

Free Classes

Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Skincare Aware

I'm in need of some serious help. (Skin care)

I am new to the beauty game, I've always bought cheap drugstore makeup and skin care products and I'm looking to build a more high end skin care regimen. I have dry, sensitive skin with ft patches which my make up clings to. I have very large pores that I would like to minimize. I would also like to even my skin tone and brighten my complexion. As far as acne goes I have a few scars, I get white heads frequently but not many at a time and I have a lot of black heads. I don't like the way my makeup looks on my skin, when I look close I can see even more clearly all of my imperfections. I see girls with flawless looking skin and that is what I want to achieve. So please please please if you could take a second to reply to this with the best of the best products you've tried for 1. Moisturizing 2. Minimizing pores and clearing your skin 3. Getting rid of dark circles under your eyes 4. Evening your skin tone and texture 5. Brightening your skin I appreciate any opinions I can get!

Re: I'm in need of some serious help. (Skin care)

The most IMPORTANT pieces of advice I can give you:

1. Patch test each product.

2. Do NOT add more than one new product a week. If you have a reaction or your skin becomes dehydrated, you may not be able to figure out the culprit if you've added new products to the routine. It's hard not to do but I promise it will be worth it.

3. MOST IMPORTANT: Use acids sparingly and rotate them. You can seriously eff up your skin's moisture barrier with even OTCs and it could take months to heal where any acids (except for Azelaic and Hyaluronic).