Free Classes

Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Skincare Aware
|

How does your morning routine differ from your evening routine?

I’m new to skincare and have a few products that I’ve been working with but I’ve been doing the same products day and night and I’m reading that a lot of you mix it up. So what are some types of products you use during the day and what do you use at night? Also any good recommendations on exfoliating? Thanks BIC!

Re: How does your morning routine differ from your evening routine?

Cleansing: I typically do not cleanse in the morning as my skin is too dry to cleanse twice a day. I will typically just splash my face with water and pat dry, or at most use a micellar water. Whereas at nighttime I typically double cleanse, first with a oil or balm cleanser to breakup my sunscreen (and makeup on the rare day I wear it) followed by a cream cleanser to wash everything off.

Serums: I use vitamin C in the mornings and at night time I will off and on use a brightening serum just over my hyperpigmented areas. I follow both of those up with a hydrating serum.

Moisturizer: I tend to use heavier moisturizer/cream at nighttime as well as mix it with a facial oil for extra hydration boost. Daytime, I’ll go for something lighter and typically skip the facial oil to avoid looking super shiny when I first get to work.

Miscellaneous: SPF everyday. I work at an entirely indoor job, typically not by a window, but I SPF every morning as it’s just a good habit. I do not reapply unless I am by a window or outdoors. In the evenings, I end my routine with tretinoin every night. And if my skin is extra dry, I will put an occlusive over dry patches (ie aquaphor, cerave healing ointment).

@KehDee  I hope you're doing well! I've missed seeing you around BIC. 🙂