Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Skincare Aware
|

Help me start my skincare journey!

I was hoping to get some advice on where to even start! I have admittedly never used skincare products and have no routine. I do suffer from acne and my skin tends to be pretty oily. There are so many recommendations I'm not even sure where to start but I want a routine that will be "easy" for a total beginner but something that also works for day and night as an everday routine to get my skin to glow. I also don't wear makeup of any kind so don't need anything for makeup removal! Please help 🤯

Re: Help me start my skincare journey!

@txcatx has given you some great info to get started, @Cfountainee. I just wanted to chime in with some more specific options and recommendations that have worked well for my oily, acne-prone skin. I'd definitely recommend starting slowly and getting a good base routine set before getting too complicated. Get your gentle cleanser, moisturizer, and sunscreen in place and then you can add in treatments to really tackle specific skin issues. As far as treatments, I'd definitely consider a vitamin C if you want even tone and a nice glow. BHA is a good place to start in treating acne. And you may want to consider adding either a hydrating toner or serum or even an occasional clay mask to help control the oil. But back to the basics, here are a few product recs:

cleansers- 

philosophy Purity Made Simple Cleanser 

First Aid Beauty Pure Skin Face Cleanser 

fresh Soy Hydrating Gentle Face Cleanser 

Youth To The People Superfood Gentle Antioxidant Refillable Cleanser 

moisturizers- 

belif The True Cream Aqua Bomb 

Caudalie Vinosource-Hydra Moisturizing Sorbet 1.3 oz/ 40 mL 

Kate Somerville Goat Milk Moisturizing Cream 1.7 oz/ 50 mL 

CosRx Oil-Free Moisturizing Sorbet

Etude House Moistfull Collagen Emulsion

sunscreens- 

MDSolarSciences Mineral Creme 50