Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Skincare Aware
|

Daily exfoliating

How often can I use my 2% BHA 3% AHA? Every other day? everyday? or twice a day?

Tags:

Re: Daily exfoliating

@zanie22 It really depends on your own skin, your familiarity with exfoliants, and the rest of your routine. For instance, I've been using both chemical and physical exfoliants for years alongside a heavily hydration-focused routine but still can't exfoliate more than 3 or 4 nights a week. But others can daily exfoliation, even maybe twice a day depending on the exact products and routine. But still others can only exfoliate once a week or even less otherwise they run the risk of irritating their skin. Is this one product or two? Is either ingredient new to you? 

Thanks for your reply. It's YTTP mandelic acid+superfood... Toner.

Yes I'm new to this method of skincare. I was old school and was using Lancome Absolute before I get introduced to this way of skincare routine. I'm using almost 6-7 types of products am and pm. I'm not sure if I'm doing it right. I just did some research and chose my ingredients based on that. My skin is not very sensitive or dry. It's normal to oily and is kinda resilient.

@zanie22  I’ll absolutely recommend you don’t exfoliate daily with any AHA. Mandelic acid is a gentle AHA, but it’s still possible to over-exfoliate with it. Over-exfoliation breaks your skin barrier, resulting in dry flaky scaly skin, redness, stinging/burning, and an open invitation to bacteria and other badness. You do not want to over-exfoliate. Keep AHA exfoliation to 1-3 times a week. Very few people (if anyone) actually need to exfoliate daily.