cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Skincare Aware
|
Anonymous Insider

Advice for beginner!!

Hello. I'm very new to skincare and would really like some great advice on a routine. I have combination skin and very sensitive skin. I have breaks out on my forehead, nose and above my jaw line. I would love to get rid of these breakouts and hydrate my skin. Any advice would be much appreciated. I started using Drunk Elephant beste No. 9 Jelly Cleanser and it feels like it chemically burnt my face and I've only used it 1-2 times a week!!!  Another question I would like to ask is, would you guys recommend ph balanced cleansers and toners??? Do I need eye cream? Retinol??? What masks do you recommend? I'm 25 years old and live in Florida. I mainly look for clean or vegan products. 

Re: Advice for beginner!!

My advice would be to just stop. Stop trying multiple products, and masks, and make-up, and whatever.  When you keep trying different things, looking for a "solution", whatever might have initially caused it is gone, and it just becomes a vicious cycle of inflammation in response to new things. Or not.  I don't know, but neither will you until you get off the merry-go-round.

There are many reputable dermatologists that you can see thru Telehealth, right over your phone or computer, now.  Do that.  While you are waiting to see them, go to the drug store, buy some Cetaphil cleanser, some Eucerin Face Lotion with SPF.  Stop using makeup. Stop using acne treatments. Stop using any sort of tools on your face.  This is your "elimination" diet.  Make sure you are using dye and fragrance free detergents and fabric softeners, at least when you wash your pillow case. Take a selfie once a week... only once a week... to track your symptoms.  

Good luck.  Sometimes it takes a long time to sort these things out.  And sometimes it's really disappointing to learn you have sensitive skin and can't just grab any ol' thing off the shelf and play.