From makeovers to personalized skincare consultations

Free Classes

Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Fragrance Fans

Greetings! Scent advise needed for a gift for my daughter!

My daughter is turning 17 years old next week, and she’s always been exposed to perfume (as they evolved over the years) from a very early age. My mother, my grandmother, myself. I used to be a counter manager in cosmetics/skin care in a well known store many years ago in NYC (pre- Sephora days) and naturally fragrance was a big part of my world and as everyone knows, scent is so personal and memory evoking... I say this because when my baby was only 4-5 years old, she adored Clinique “Happy Heart” for many years... it was her first perfume actually! She also adored Comptoir Sud Pacifique Vanille Abricot ( which I used to wear back in the 90s) and also shared with her). I’ve actually purchased the Vanille abricot multiple times for her over the recent years, until one day she tried Versace Bright Crystal. She loved it and of course I began buying her that. Until she tired of it. Now, myself, I wore Allure by Chanel, often mixed with the Conptoir Vanille Abricot and on my skin chemistry, it just worked beautifully. I think I recall being a fan of Ralph Lauren “Blue” I believe it was called which I haven’t seen in ages. Issey Miyake when first released too I was crazy about. My daughter probably doesn’t remember it but I bet she’d like it. (If it helps, she currently uses Donna Karan deodorant daily and enjoys the scent too) The reason I’m giving all of this information and my own background is because I didn’t wear Allure, or anything for many years ( approx 😎 and recently repurchased it. My daughter immediately exclaimed “I’ve got my mama back!” As she clearly recognised it ( she said this because I’ve been having some health troubles, hence not caring much about my own self. But wearing my old perfume