cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Parents Only
|

Information about products labeled as "pregnancy safe"

Hi parents and parents to be!

As skincare is becoming deeply ingrained in our everyday lives I see more and more posts and questions on product pages regarding safety during pregnancy/ nursing. I have had 2 children and wanted to offer some insight and words of caution about this topic. 

For starters the term "pregnancy safe" (or safe for nursing) has no concrete definition. These are ambiguous terms which are widely open to interpretation based on individual opinions and comfort levels. Brands love to boast that certain products are pregnancy safe however, I beg of you, please do not take that statement at face value.

A little history on ingredients and safety in a very watered down way (if you're a scientist please don't laugh, I am a social worker just doing my best haha): Skincare ingredients are typically divided into 3 categories, let's call them "A", "B", and "C". Products in category A are things we know are safe to use while pregnant as well as things that are assumed to be safe in pregnancy based on the chemistry of the ingredient, how it behaves, association to other products in category A, etc.

Products in Category C are things we know are NOT safe to use during pregnancy and those assumed unsafe based of the chemistry of the ingredient, how it behaves, association to other products in category C, etc.. These ingredients have been linked to adverse effects on the developing fetus.