Free Classes

Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Oily Skin

Beginner looking for major help

Hello! I’m very very new to the whole makeup world and want to start getting Into it but I don’t really know where to start. I know that first you kind of need to have good skincare so that’s on my list of help as well lol. I struggle with very oily skin and large pores. Is there any advice you might be able to give me or product recommendations? Anything would be amazing! THANK YOU!

Re: Beginner looking for major help

Hi @Nikkineedhelp!

Makeup is one of my favorite ways of expressing myself!  So excited that you're starting!

Skincare is the first and most important step!  I have oily, acne prone skin with large pores too!  My routine in the morning is Youth To The People Superfood Antioxidant Cleanser 8 oz/ 237 mL, Youth To The People Superfood Firm and Brighten Vitamin C Serum and the Youth To The People Superfood Air-Whip Moisturizer with Hyaluronic Acid.  I use a cold jade roller to really allow the products to penetrate into my skin.

You can take this quiz here to help you find the best skincare products for you:

https://www.sephora.com/beauty/skin-care-quiz?icid2=meganav_howtos_skincare_finder_med_050118_image

For a more natural base, you can use tinted moisturizer, BB or CC cream.  Or, you can use a light/natural coverage foundation.  Using sunscreen with UV protection is a must!!!!  I like Shiseido Urban Environment Oil-Free UV Protector Broad Spectrum Face Sunscreen SPF 42 1 oz/ 30 mL or the Kose Suncut Sunscreen.  Make sure your sunscreen has UV protection since UV rays are the most harmful to your skin.  Sunscreen without UV protection is pretty much useless.  Foundations with SPF do not work!  Recent studies have found that you need 15 pumps of it on your face for it to actually be effective.