Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Nailed It
|

Dip powder nails worth the hype?

I am looking into investing in a dip powder nail kit because I love getting my nails done but I’m thinking this will be a way to save money as I can do it at home and it lasts 3 weeks. When I do my nails I usually go to the salon and get shellac, and remove the shellac myself no problem. I am just wondering if you’ve tried dip nails, what products/brands you use and recommend, if you find other brands/products mix well (using one brand for the colour and another brand for everything else), if the process is too long/too much work/too difficult/worth it? And any other recommendations you may have 🤗 colour selection important to me too!

Re: Dip powder nails worth the hype?

I've been doing this for about 6 months and I really love it. It's darn near bulletproof for the entire wear period, which mostly depends on how fast your nails grow. You don't fill them like acrylics... you take them off every time. But you soak them off after buffing off the top clear layer, so it's not like shellac where you might damage the nail bed scraping it off.

I'm definitely not coordinated enough to do it myself and have it look nice, so I go to a salon for it. But if you're of those people who can do paint-on gels at home and have it come out pretty much perfect, you'll be fine with a kit.

RE: Re: Dip powder nails worth the hype?

Amazing thank you for the reply!

Dip powder nails are a great alternative to acrylics and last longer than gel polish. I do recommend you get a kit and take the time to learn how to do your own. Salons just started offering them (at least in my area) and the sanitation of the process is questionable. There are a few good kits that aren’t costly. 

Why do you find the sanitation questionable?