Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Men Who Makeup
|

Just starting my new journey.

What would be a good starter makeup kit? I'm just learning how to apply it but don't know what I should buy. I'm currently borrowing some makeup products. Please any help would be appreciated.

Re: Just starting my new journey.

Totally start with drug store makeup just so you can get acquainted with different techniques and types of makeup. There's no shame in buying. Cheap makeup to practice with. Elf is a great company that's not too pricey but they have some decent products. As you get used to makeup experiment with different brands and types and colors. Makeup is supposed to be fun, don't be nervous 🙂

Hello!!! From a fellow man makeup lover, start with a tinted moisturizer. The kosas one worked wonders for me. Or even the fenti setting powder works amazing as foundation for men. Ask me anything!!

Don't be nervous! Makeup can be so fun to mess around with. Since you are starting out, I would recommend that you experiment with different products and formulations (matte, dewy, cream-based, liquid/powder foundation, sheer, foundation vs CC vs BB cream, korean makeup, etc. etc.). It can get overwhelming but start simple. I second what someone else said about starting with drugstore brands. However, when it comes to foundation, if you are having trouble finding a skin tone match (it took me YEARS to find a foundation that matched my skin), I recommend going to Sephora or Ulta and asking the ladies over there for help. Sephora usually has a color iq device that scans your skin and gives you a bunch of options and shades across different brands. 

From what I have heard, reps at Ulta are friendlier (Ulta also carries a lot of drugstore brands unlike Sephora). Good luck and have fun!