Free Classes

Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Men Who Makeup

First Time With Makeup

I have been curious about makeup and always wanted to try it out, so I got the app and I have no idea about what to get first. so I found this and now I just want to see your opinions on what I should try first.

Re: First Time With Makeup

I agree that getting color matched is an important first step, as well as determining your desired coverage, finishes, etc. I imagine some of the basics would be the right skincare, light coverage face makeup (BB cream, tinted moisturizer), and a brow product. Are you starting by dipping your toes in the water, or going full cannonball? 🙂

I wonder if it might be worthwhile to consult the wonderful world of YouTube? I’m far from an expert on men’s makeup, but I’ve seen many great resources out there. Wayne Goss comes to mind immediately, as he’s a professional. When I first got into makeup beyond the drugstore, I looked for YTers who had similar skin to mine, seemed relatable, and made fun and informative content. Perhaps this would be helpful to you as well. Best of luck!

RE: First Time With Makeup

I recommend using the born this way concealer by too faced and their hangover RX primer

Unsure of facial hair but always be sure to blend into it if you do have. As for a good base product do you want a more radiant or matte look? Concealers I love the YSL Touché éclat Pen or Sephora no crease Skin tints Sephora collection Armani Chartlet. T I would highly recommend going into Sephora if one is close by and do a custom makeover. This can allow you to have somebody show you products ($50 purchase required)

Re: First Time With Makeup

I would really suggest that you go into a Sephora and get your color IQ done. That will help you find things like foundation, concealer, etc to match your skin tone.

First Time With Makeup