cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Men Who Makeup
|

Dragon Ball Super's 17 Cosplay Make up

Hey guys! 🙂

First post here - and it's about cosplay make up.

I wanted to know if any of you has an idea regarding '' battle damage '' inspired look? As you can see on this photo, I have a few '' dark scratches '' made with black mascara.

Do you guys think it could be improved by using something else during a photoshoot? I want them to pop a tiny bit more.

Thank you! 🙂

Capture d’écran 2018-08-02 à 22.10.27.png

Re: Dragon Ball Super's 17 Cosplay Make up

Eeeee! Before I ever got into "girl" makeup, I studied "monster" makeup -- thank you, D. Smith!! (D. Smith was an Academy Award-winning makeup artist who taught all the best zombie-makeup artists... AND my dad! Smith used to publish monster magazines and stuff like that, and when my dad died when I was a kid I inherited all his grease paints and magazines, and that was my start!) (BTW, all "zombie makeup" is the same thing as "contouring," it turns out. Just apply less than required to look dead, hahahaha.)

The easiest way to create a scar on your skin is by painting a product called "non-flexible collodion." It tightens up the skin to create a fake scar. But it's kinda subtle. Add a bit of pink-red color with a fine-tipped brush, and you have a real-looking scar! I don't know about your anime, but you could darken up the same scar, I guess!

Another cool, maybe even better thing is "ear, nose, and scar wax," preferably the stuff by Ben Nye -- or at least that's what I used at your age. Movie-makeup quality! But... it probably won't match your skin tone. SO! Apply a small wad to your face, using spirit gum to stick it down. Now, sculpt the shape of a little hill. Use your fingers to "blend" the wax into your skin, and then create scars with a toothpick. Cover all your skin with a foundation layer of makeup and follow up with a thin dusting of transluscent powder -- all over.