cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Makeup Is Life
|
Anonymous Insider

Undertone

I’m having an issue finding my foundation shade. I’ve gone to 2 different MUA at the store and they both say I have a cool undertone. But the foundation is always waaaay to pink on me. I’ve tried a neutral undertone also and that is also too pink. I’m still learning this whole makeup deal, so is it possible to have a warm-ish undertone on the face but cool on wrists? Does that make sense? I feel so dumb. I just don’t want to look like clown or tomato lol. 

RE: Undertone

It’s all trial and error, really. If a neutral toned foundation is still too pink for you, try one with a warmer undertone. As others have said on this thread, no one is completely cool, warm, or neutral toned. If you watch Lisa Eldridge’s video on finding the correct foundation shade (which I highly recommend), she states that skin tones are a mix of various undertones (e.g., blues, greens, yellows, reds, etc.) it's all about which ones are more dominant within your skin. For example, I'm more on the cool side since I have a lot of pink and red in my skin. I tend to neutralize it with a neutral toned foundation that matches my body. Go to different makeup counters and have the artists match you. Samples are your best friend! Try them out in different lighting (inside/outside, fluorescent lighting) to analyze how the color appears on your skin. Does it look different in certain lighting? It's always important to match your foundation in natural daylight as store lighting is harsh and can distort the foundation color. Some formulas oxidize too, so check to make sure the color matches when It's dry.

Re: Undertone

@Anonymous Everyone doesn't fit neatly inside any color/undertone a brand has. Undertones nor foundation color are an absolute, sure the vein test etc gives a starting point.