Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Makeup Is Life
Anonymous Insider

I'm new at this...

I'm in high school, and I've only recently started getting into makeup. I'm very athletic so I've never really needed it.  Before I would probably only wear foundation, concealer, and mascara. Now I really want to learn more about cosmetics and beauty. I've also only recently gotten a job, so I don't have a lot of money. Do any of y'all have any cheap makeup products? And I would also like some minimalist makeup looks.

I'm new at this...

I have monolids and the struggle to find makeup that doesn't smudge is ALMOST impossible. I only wear eyeliner, mascara and use a brow pencil. it's all from Sephora but I don't wear makeup every day and and since I'm not re-applying, I save a LOT of money. I've tried so many drugstore brands and it smudged but now I have makeup that doesn't go ANYWHERE. If it's a deal breaker- splurge on Urban Decay eye primer. I use it on humid days and everything stays ON. I use Marc Jacob Highliner Crayon. the black is not matte and is slightly more transferable so I use the dark brown matte version. then I use Stila Stay All Day liquid liner and Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz. each item is $20, but they also hold so much product compared to drug store too. my monolids say it's worth it!

Re: I'm new at this...

@Anonymous Welcome to the world of Beauty! Revlon Colorstay Is a fantastic drugstore foundation. I recommend it to all my friends that don’t like to (or can’t) spend much on makeup. NYX has an endless collection of affordable lip products, all very well formulated. Morphed brushes are phenomenally priced. When I was younger and jobless I built my makeup collection by asking for gift cards to Sephora, MAC and Ulta for Christmas and birthdays. I also suggest watching beauty tutorials on YouTube to hone you your application skills. 

I'm new at this...