Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Complexion Club
|

How to apply powder foundation

I'm a makeup newbie, and am having the hardest time applying powder foundation (I use bareminerals)! I went to Sephora and asked for help, and the associate told me to skip the primer (I use the Benefit poreless primer) and perhaps buy a new brush (I was using the e.l.f. airbrush blender). So, I bought Sephora's 47 and was told that it was good for full coverage foundation. (FYI, I do cleanse, tone, and moisturize my skin beforehand).

So, I tried it, but my face still doesn't look nice. Is powder foundation supposed to look...powdery? How many times am I supposed to put product on the brush to get full coverage? Should I use a beautyblender instead? Or a liquid foundation?

Help please!

Re: How to apply powder foundation

@dreamer254  -  You definitely can use a beauty blender to apply your powder foundation - some people prefer to use a beauty blender for all foundation / powder application while others use brushes.  And of course, there are a lot of us that use both.  It really comes down to what you feel comfortable with and if you are just starting out you may find the beauty blender or dry sponge technique works best for you.  It's not clear from your post how long you wait after your skincare routine before you start to apply so I would only suggest if you are not already doing so to wait until your skincare has soaked in before you apply.  Also, it can be helpful to watch other people apply foundation powder, liquid or creme in a step-by-step basis.  If there is a Bare Minerals in your area you could pop in there and ask for pointers too.