Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Lip Lovers
|

Lip care musts?

I am new to the beauty world and I’m looking for advice on lip care. I have always just been a chapstick junkie but I’m looking to try new things. My lips are super dry and I have always found it hard to wear lipsticks because they look terrible with my peeling lips. Any advice?

Re: Lip care musts?

@Meowtown2020  My daily lip balm is plain ol Aquaphor Ointment. (Not to be confused with Aquaphor’s “lip balm” branded product.) It’s a petrolatum-based product that also contains mineral oil; this makes it a fantastic occlusive moisturizer that beefs up my lips’ skin barrier, promotes healing if my lips are chapped, and seals in moisture. I keep travel tubes of Aquaphor in my purse/bag, plus various places in my home. 

Here’s my entire lip care routine: 

Spoiler

A note about lip scrubs: resist the urge to over-exfoliate your lips to remove all signs of chapping/peeling. The skin on your lips is the thinnest on your whole face. Exfoliating too often can wreck your lips’ natural moisture barrier—just like exfoliating the rest of your face too often can do some damage. I kinda let my lips tell me how often they need scrubbing, but I don’t go longer than 2 weeks without doing it. 

I'm a huge fan of the Mamonde lip mask (available at Ulta). If I recall correctly, it's a pretty close dupe for Laneige, but a little better of a value. I also agree with gently exfoliating your lips once or twice a week. I have tried various sugar scrubs and a couple scrubber tools, but I find a wet washcloth in the shower is the easiest and doesn't require much effort. Even rubbing a towel gently on my lips after my shower can work.