Free Classes

Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Everything Eyes

What’s wrong with my eyelids?

I usually wear browns, lighter color on eyelid and brown in the crease but you can never tell. Doesn’t really matter what color I chose (not talking about bright colors) it always looks like I’m not wearing any color at all. 

I know I’m not very good at putting eyeshadow on but it doesn’t ever seem to look like I’m wearing any color at all. I do have small eyelids and small eyes. 

Any suggestions for me?  Thank you!!

Re: What’s wrong with my eyelids?

The extra skin on hooded eyes tends to add more shadow to the eye, especially anything right under the brow bone. That can make it harder for color to be seen. What I have been doing that helps is add a touch of a light concealer to my entire eyelid, usually I just use whatever product is left on my sponge after I blend my concealer but I might dab a tiny dot on my lid to blend out. I also use a light powder to prime and set my concealer. I still find that the colors often come through as a different shade than they should but if I adjust my color choice with that in mind, I can put color on my upper lids and have it stick.

My eyes are pretty small as well, @Meeg71 so I usually have to take color above my crease for it to be noticeable. Wayne Goss on youtube has some good videos about hooded eyes and his tips helped me with my technique. 

@quspork I always try to get my shade above my crease, but for some reason it never seems to take.  Do you have any tips?  My eyes aren't usually hooded, if you need to know that in order to answer the question.  (If I don't get enough sleep, righty gets hooded!)