Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Deeper Shades
|

Hello I’m new here and I have so much to ask

I’m a new beginner in makeup this will be my first time learning how to do my own makeup never I’ve had family do mines but the was only for prom and graduation never picked up a brush since than any pointers

Re: Hello I’m new here and I have so much to ask

Hi @NubianLevi 

Makeup is one of my favorite ways of expressing myself!  So excited that you're starting!

Skincare is the first and most important step!  If you haven't already, find out what your skin type is (oily, normal, dry, combo) and your skin concerns.  That will narrow down what skincare and makeup products are best for your skin.  You can take the quiz here:

https://www.sephora.com/beauty/skin-care-quiz?icid2=meganav_howtos_skincare_finder_med_050118_image

For a more natural base, you can use tinted moisturizer, BB or CC cream.  Or, you can use a light/natural coverage foundation.  Using sunscreen with UV protection is a must!!!!  I like Shiseido Urban Environment Oil-Free UV Protector Broad Spectrum Face Sunscreen SPF 42 1 oz/ 30 mL or the Kose Suncut Sunscreen.  Make sure your sunscreen has UV protection since UV rays are the most harmful to your skin.  Sunscreen without UV protection is pretty much useless.  Foundations with SPF do not work!  Recent studies have found that you need 15 pumps of it on your face for it to actually be effective.

To prevent clogging pores or if you want a more even texture, use a primer.  The order would be your skincare routine, sunscreen, primer, and then whatever your chosen foundation or BB/CC cream is.