Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Combination Skin
|

order and routine of skincare

hi everyone! i'm very new to skincare and have a combo skin type with a very oily T-zone and normal/dryish cheeks. i also have acne mostly on my forehead but a little spread around plus big pores on my nose and cheeks.

i've been looking into the inkey list and la roche posay brands and hope that they could help with all of my skin concerns. however, i have a big question: what order do i use the products in? im pretty sure cleansers go first, and i've heard of thin to thick, but when would i apply the acne treatment, moisturizer, spf, and everything else? 

additionally, i've been thinking about using pimple patches on my acne. do i put them on straight to my face? or should i use a treatment under? if not, would i still go through my skin care routine over it?

thank you for reading through all this, and i hope someone can answer all these questions 😅😅 all replies are much appreciated!! happy november 🙂

Re: order and routine of skincare

Hi @courtneyylols and welcome to the world of skincare! Here's the general order of application: 

1. Cleanser - gotta remove the day’s crud and cooties before doing anything else to your face. If you wear makeup and your cleanser doesn’t remove it all, use a makeup remover first: can be micellar water, cleansing balm, oil cleanser, etc. Wash your face each night. You might not need to wash it in the morning. If you happen to work nightshift, then opposite applies: wash when you come home in the morning to remove all the crud your skin's picked up.