Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Combination Skin
|

Shiny/oily looking makeup

Hi guys, I’m new to doing my makeup and I notice that after about an hour of doing my face... my nose, cheek, and middle forehead area is really shiny (almost oily looking). What can I do about that? I’m using the fenty makeup and when I went to sephora, I was asked what kind of skin I have and I told her it’s a mix. Any ideas or tips?

RE: Shiny/oily looking makeup

Hi CaramelNYC86, I have combination to oily skin too. So I think my idea will help you. First of all, I always use moisturiser before my makeup. Because when your face doesn't moist enough, your face willautomatically produce more oil so It will make your base looks more oily ( hope you understand what I mean). 2nd, use primer on the oily area.Use primer with silicone in it and remember to double clean your face at the end of the day so the silicone will not stuck in your pores ( it will cause black head and more oil if your pores are not clean). 3nd,use loose powder on the oily area. And set your skin with setting spray.Moreover, you can use oil plotting paper but don't use more than 2 times a day. Use oil-free products Or use foundation with water base might help as well.

Re: Shiny/oily looking makeup

@CaramelNYC86 @You can use a mattifying primer like MAC skin refined zone on places you get more oily. 

Re: Shiny/oily looking makeup

Hi @CaramelNYC86!

Having oily skin is the worst!  What products or techniques did Sephora recommend for you?

Drinking water and having a good skincare routine helps.  I use Cetaphil cleanser for normal to oily skin, toner, serum, treatment (for oily skin and acne), lightweight moisturizer, and sunscreen.