Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Best Hair Ever
|

PLEASE HELP MY HAIR IS SEVERLY MATTED AND ALMOST DREADED IT SEEMS

my mom and me spent two hours trying to get this knot out i have severe depression so i don’t brush my hair ever or really maintain my looks anymore like doing makeup because i’ve just been depressed we usedshampoo kopari leave in conditioner maui conditioner warm olive oil from greece it was my papous he made it and it won’t come out i don’t know what to i’m literally crying i don’t want to cut it!! i went kind of crazy in 2013 and shaved my head and it’s taken so long to grow out and i am so sad please someone help

Re: PLEASE HELP MY HAIR IS SEVERLY MATTED AND ALMOST DREADED IT SEEMS

Hi hun @steffypoox3

I'm a stylist and a former salon owner, please listen to me. 

What you are experiencing is not uncommon. Depression is a beast that takes many forms and self care is usually something that takes the back burner. 

Please google salons in your area or go to your local mall and ask to speak to the head stylist or salon owner. Generally the receptionist will not understand and may book incorrect. 

If you cannot go into a salon, please DO NOT WET YOUR HAIR before attempting to detangle. This is the worst thing to do. Hair shrinks when it's wet and knots get tighter which will cause severe breakage. 

Pick up some Biolage Hydrasource Detangling Solution and slather your hair in it section by section. This conditioner has a very slippery texture that will help you guide your brush through. 

Hi,