Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Besides Beauty
|

Tips on how to deal with community bathrooms in dorms

I'm an incoming freshman to college this fall and my dorm has community style bathrooms. Does anyone have any advice for them? It can really be anything because I am kind of getting nervous for it.

Re: Tips on how to deal with community bathrooms in dorms

Thanks to everyone for all the advice! It really makes me a little less anxious 🙂

@Saraha1736 I think the other BICers gave great information!  The only thing I have to add is that many of the girls will be feeling the same way as you are.  Once you are in the swing of things (like three weeks in) you all will pretty much forget about any anxieties you have.

And if worse comes to worse, I knew girls who would occasionally use a bathroom on another floor if one was too occupied or if they were nervous around their friends.  It'll be fine!

Have fun!

Image result for fun gif

I lived in this situation when I was in the military.  Same age group as college. 

1.  Always wear footwear.  You don't know what could be on the floor.

2.  Always look at the toilet seat before you sit down. 

3.  Buy wipes if you don't feel comfortable sitting on the seat. We didn't have toilet seat liners in the bathroom.

4.  For TTOTM  It may be a good idea to buy a bag to carry your feminine supplies.  It's a pain to have to go back to the room because you forgot something, especially if you need to go in the middle of the night.

I worried about the same things when I was becoming a freshmen. 

I didn't have an OCD or anything but I was a clean freak, and someone who valued personal space. I worried more about the thought of using a community bathroom and having to share a room with a roommate.