Free Classes

Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Beauty Confidential
|

why do my sunglasses leave marks in my make-up?

What am I doing wrong? every time I wear my sunglasses when I take them off you can see where they set in my makeup. I don't use alot at all. I'm new to Sephora so I'm not sure of maybe I'm applying it wrong or missing a step. any advice?

Re: why do my sunglasses leave marks in my make-up?

Four things I do for this: 

1. Make sure you’ve really set the makeup on your nose and under your eyes. I don’t like to bake with setting powder because my under eyes and cheeks are very dry, and baking usually makes it worse. But I’ll do it if I’m going to wear sunglasses most of the day. I might also use a setting spray on top of that for extra lockdown insurance. (For me, Skindinavia is the only spray that actually sets makeup. Other folks swear by Urban Decay All Nighter.) 
  2. Try dusting the underside of your sunglasses with setting powder, wherever your glasses touch your face. If your glasses already fit well, this shouldn’t make them slide way down your nose. If your glasses have adjustable pads at the bridge, dust those with powder. This doesn’t completely prevent marks on my face, but it helps. If there’s a bit of powder on my face when I take off my glasses, I lightly wipe that away with a finger. Usually I use a tinted setting powder for this because I have a deep skin tone.
  3. Carry setting powder and a small sponge or brush with you for touch ups. This is how I use most double-ended brushes that come with eyeshadow palettes, if one end is a fairly fluffy crease brush. Those work pretty well for dusting more powder on my nose and under my eyes.