cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Acne-Prone Skin

Skincare routine for Hormonal Acne / oily skin

Spoiler
Help!

This is my first time posting here but I’ve reached a breaking point. Im looking for a skincare routine to help spot treat and prevent breakouts. 
I’ve started breaking out more than usual in areas that an esthetician claims is due to hormones.  I have tried so many products for my face. Unfortunately my chest and areas around my ears and cheeks have been fighting to survive. I was using Farmacy products in conjunction with the Sephora clean beauty line (peel pads). In the last two months I started using 100% Pure a local California based company who advertises tea tree oil products to help with Acne. For a while my face cleared but I had minimal breakouts. Lately nothing is working. I’m trying salycilic acid serum, benzoyl peroxide spot treatment, and tea tree face wash / toner and moisturizer plus SPF. I Exfoliate as well once a week- I’ve tried breaking that up and on top of those I use a cleansing balm to take make up off. I feel like it could be due to a shift in my hormones around my cycle but it’s happening more intensely in new areas. 
Looking for recommendations for face wash, mask, spot treatment, moisturizer, toner and SPF for oily and acne prone skin. (With acne scarring and enlarged pores)  Should I do more exfoliating or do more glycolic AHA/BHA targeted products? 

this may be TMI but the acne I have is a combination of cystic and “pea acne” which are teeny bumps with continual amounts of sebum or oil buildup. I know I should seek a dermatologist I just wanted to see if anyone else has had this issue 🙂 Appreciate any info. 

Re: Skincare routine for Hormonal Acne / oily skin