Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Acne-Prone Skin
|

Moisturizer to pair with Retin-A

Hi all- I’ve been using Retin-A for about 4 months now to cure my cystic acne, and it has been a God send, as it has truly cleared up my skin! My biggest issue that I STILL struggle with is peeling. I know that peeling is a good thing, but my skin literally peels all day. It makes my makeup look horrible! My dermatologist recommends that I pair it with a good moisturizer at night, and after much trial and error, I have not found a good one yet. Can anyone recommend a good one that pairs well with Retin-A?

Re: Moisturizer to pair with Retin-A

I've been using Retin-a for almost 4 years now but I STILL struggle with peeling in the winter. But I just discovered CeraVe PM and it's the best thing ever. I've tried multiple other moisturizers but the CeraVe actually stops me from peeling throughout the day rather than making it go away for a few hours. Just be sure to apply it twice a day. Good luck!

Do you use the moisturizer before the retin a, after or mixed with.  Have been hearing great things about that moisturizer.

RE: Moisturizer to pair with Retin-A

I’ve never been on Retin-A but I’m on a clindamyacin prescription which dried me out at first. Sunday Riley CEO moisturizer rescued my skin. Good luck - keep trying things til you find what works for you!

@MissSarah03 I discovered CeraVe PM when I started using Retin-A, and still use it even though my skin is acclimated.  If I need a little more, I have been using Cetaphil Night Moisturizer from the Redness Relieving line.  I also like Clinique Smart Treatment Oil for even dryer areas.  And for the worst of the worst, I rec applying a thin layer of store brand Neosporin.  Good luck!  🙂

Anonymous Insider