Transitioning away from Tazorac (retinoid)

I've been using Atralin/Tazorac for about 6 months now to deal with some hormonal acne issues. My skin has pretty much returned to normal, with the occasional pimple here and there, but nothing compared to the flare up I had a while ago which prompted the use of these retinoids. I find that they make my already shiny face even worse, especially during the summer. I would like to transition away from these strong retinoids and maybe begin using a moisturizer and/or serum at night that contains some type of retinol to ensure that my skin remains youthful and (hopefully) acne free, while reducing some of the oiliness that medication tends to contribute to. My current skincare routine involves washing twice a day with a gentle cleanser (Neutrogena Cream Cleanser), toning with Thayer's Rose Witch Hazel to balance the pH, Origins Zero Oil moisturizer (for day time), and using the Clarisonic at night along with the retinoid and a tiny amount of FAB Ultra Repair Cream to combat any flakiness. Any suggestions as to how I can revamp this routine?

Re: Transitioning away from Tazorac (retinoid)

(0) Hearts

Maybe you should try using it every other day or every two days instead. I use Tazorac cream and I know it also comes in a gel that would probably help with oiliness. So I think using it only a couple times a week will be your best bet. Looking at your skincare routine, I can see why your skin might be more oily. You're using a lot of drying stuff. Also are you using the Clarisonic every day? If so, I would suggest not doing that anymore. I only use mine once a week. I have really strong skin, so I probably could use it more often but I find the more gentle I am, the better my skin looks. Not sure what Atralin is, but Tazorac is one of the strongest retinoids and you really need to be very very gentle while using it. So for a revamped routine I would recommend: