Answer
Clueless87
Help!
Hi everyone! This is my first time posting because I'm so fed up and wanted some advice. I'm 25 years old with combination skin. Oily forehead and cheeks and dry around chin area. I've struggled with acne forever and tried everything. I keep getting acne on my cheeks. Also, just for context, I do have a hormonal imbalance and am taking bc for it. I wash, tone, and use moisturizer, but I notice later in the day that my cheeks are red and my face looks shiny and greasy with large pores on my cheeks.

Here's the deal: I have no idea what products to use and am overwhelmed whenever I look something up. Primers, bb creams, cc creams, mineral, matte...it's a foreign language to me. I was thinking about coming in for a consultation but I feel like an idiot b/c everyone my age seems to know what they're doing and I don't even know the basics!

Also I live in a humid region and was wondering about makeup routines. When it's so hot, how do you get your primer/foundation/everything else to stay on without your face looking like its melting! Helppp
Advanced
You must be signed in to add attachments
This is an excerpt of the original post.View the full conversation
peacefulseraph
Answered
[ Edited ]

I have sensitive combination skin that breaks out every chance it can get... but through trial and error, I've found a few products that calm my skin.

1) don't use products that contain sulfates, They irritate skin, and can dry out the skin. For a cleanser, use cleansing milk.

2) never use alcohol on your face. It over dries out your skin to the point it will produce excessive amounts of oil to restore what it lost. Use an oil free toner.

3) exfoliate at least 2x a week or the oil, dead skin and bacteria on your face will wreak havoc.

4) use oil free moisturizers, you don't need to look like a grease slick so go for lotions over creams. Sometimes I use tea tree oil in my breakout zones instead because it helps with acne.