Jandi

I pulled a foot long, living plant out of my bathroom drain tonight! What did this?

My top suspect is the Glamglow but in also wondering about the Origins black clay mask. I'm thankful that this particular incident was so easily solved but would like to prevent future issues.
love2shop42

Re: I pulled a foot long, living plant out of my bathroom drain tonight! What did this?

Great advice! 

missrmessner

Re: I pulled a foot long, living plant out of my bathroom drain tonight! What did this?

Hey Jandi, I'm an engineer and we see things like this often. They're usually associated with broken sanitary lines beneath your house, enabling soil and vegetation to enter your pipes. This can also lead to potential problems with your foundation due to the excess of water draining from the broken pipe (depending on your location and the types of soil present). 

I've honestly never encountered vegetation in a pipe due to something other than a broken line, but that's not to say it isn't possible. I'd try to monitor the situation and, if possible, get a plumber out to camera your sanitary lines. 

bratknits

It was a foot long and sticking out of the drain, it didn't crawl up the sewer pipe.  It's a bean that got dropped in the sink, probably caught in the fins sticking out of the plug and reached down to drink that little bit of water that's always in the trap.  For a bean that's less than a week of growth particularly somewhere warm like a bathroom.

kalex

I really don't think that plant was caused by a mask.  Even if a mask has seeds in it they should flush completely through your plumbing system when you run the water.  I suggest calling a plumber and having your pipes cleared.

danimazz

OMG! That's totally freaky! I hate pulling my own hair out of the drain, nevermind a living plant.  I'm going to have to start washing my face masks off outside, with the hose!

ladyace74

The things we do to look pretty!

danimazz

(0) Hearts