bad823

Expensive nail polish -- worth it?

(0) Hearts

I use OPI with an occasional Essie thrown in.  I'm wondering what I'm missing with higher end polishes???

VTK084

Re: Expensive nail polish -- worth it?

(0) Hearts

I love Chanel and just got some Marc Jacob's which are amazing but right now I think the Indie brands are on the forefront of innovation.

I am in love love love with Cult Nails and just got my first Enchanted Polishes (waiting for them to come).

OCC is the best for matching.

caperella

(0) Hearts

I really don't think "high end" polish is worth it at all. The few I have perform the same or worse than my favourite brands (CND Vinylux, China Glaze, OPI). I don't find that the high end brands like Chanel are any more trendy than the mid range polish companies are. As a nail tech, I can't justify using high end brands on clients and I, myself, wear nothing but gel polish. I'd be lucky to get a day out of regular polish with all the polish remover and water I'm around daily. I'd much rather take the money that it'd cost to buy a high end polish and buy a gel polish instead. 

jxw200

(0) Hearts

i think the benefit of high end polishes are their colors - chanel in particular has some pretty unique releases here and there. However, I find that midrange options work best for me. I'm the type who has chipped nails in about a day, and chanel really doesn't work for me at all. I don't see much difference in wear - i do agree that is more a result of base/top coat, at least for me. 

I like Nails Inc, Butter London, deborah lippmann. :smileyhappy: Sephora's Formula X is making a good impression on me. and honestly sally hansen instadri is impressive too (the line, as well as the topcoat in the red bottle!)