jednajedina

Where to start? New to Make-Up

I am a beginner to make-up, what are the essential brushes I should have? Also I have sensitive, dry skin, what skin care products would you recommend? Thanks! (23 years old)

aggiegirl2012

Re: Where to start? New to Make-Up

I use Paula's choice for my skincare since I'm super sensitive and dry due to allergies year round. The BHA liquid has cleared my blackheads immensely.

As far as brushes go- I love the Mac 217 & 239, Real Techniques face brushes (blush, powder, expert face), I love the beautyblender as well. sephoras airbrush concealer and smaller foundation brush were my holy grails until my beautyblender during my last dry spell.

jednajedina

@jettagrrl  Thank you! I really am so thankful for your reply. I wish I knew this stuff years ago!  So glad I found this Advice section. :smileyhappy:

jednajedina

I have totally slacked on my facial routine.  Wow, so wonderful of you to share all of this information. You answered all my questions!  It is refreshing to know that these products and tips actually work. Seems more believable coming from you than from a paid model/actress. Thanks a bunch for sharing! Looking forward to try these products!   @DesertRose0706

jettagrrl

Not to be a broken record, but invest in a Clarisonic if you can - I have the Mia but recommend the Mia2 if you can afford it.  My skin has never looked better.  If you don't take good care of your skin, makeup will not help you.

Lush Ocean salt - it has big coarse grains of salt that I wouldn't recommend for skin as it can cause micro-tearing.  Plus with having dry sensitive skin, I would worry the cleanser would aggravate it.  I do, however, use Lush's 9 to 5 oil based cleanser to remove makeup at night (which I love).  I'd recommend going for the Sephora consultation - they can definitely help!