jcknox

Mens makeup beginner

[ Edited ]

hey everyone! I'm a male college student  new to the makeup world (obviously lol) and I've been trying to find makeup products (mostly in drugstores) and ive been getting tips from youtubers. So far i feel like a fish out of water. I've been wearing makeup for 2 months now to film videos for my school and i get a lot of feedback concerning my make up lol. I do it myself cause i film from my dorm and the comments always says i look really cakey lol I dont mind it. 

The products i have so far loreal true match foundation and the powder , macs studio finish concealer and i just bought maybellines fit me concealer cause i thought it wouldnt make me cakey. I apply moisturizer everday in the morning and at night and i exfoliate 3 times a week. I apply everything with my fingers by tapping it across my face. I dont pack it on i just do one layer of the foundation. I also have a little bit of scars from old zits and ive been trying to cover them up with the mac concealer but its too cakey on my face. I was seeing if anyone can give me some tips and recommendations on product.  I dont mind the expensive stuff but i would prefer drug store makeup since its easier on my college budget lol.

Are there any better concealers and foundations out there tat can help with a less cakey look than the stuff im using? 

I'm wanting to get a more natural look so no one notices i wear makeup and if i feel less frustrated i may plan on wearing makeup to classes and parties lol

Thanks for reading and hope to hear from some of you :smileyhappy:

BeautyJunkie325

Re: Mens makeup beginner

(0) Hearts

A good primer is key.  Honesty the ELF primer is pretty good if you are on a tight budget.  I forgot to pack a primer while on a business trip band picked it up on a whim.  It worked pretty well.  I also use the Real Techniques brush to apply my foundation as well as an egg shaped sponge. Good luck!

LCResz

(0) Hearts