BlushHoarder

Advice Requested - A serious professional look

Hello all, I am a college instructor and yield a deal of authority. However, I am very young looking. I also have a kind persona. This often (real or fabricated) causes me issues at work. I oftentimes feel like I am not taken seriously or am viewed as less as all of my coworkers have at least 15 years on me.

I realize that this issue is multifaceted and therefore not due to just one thing, but one thing I know I can do is work on my appearance.

Can you all share some techniques (make up, clothing, or otherwise) that you use or avoid when you are trying to convey a "take me seriously" look.

All thoughts are welcome!

kimchikween

Re: Advice Requested - A serious professional look

I have the same problem.  I look a lot younger than I actually am and work in a male dominated industry with a lot of "good ol boy" clients who struggle with taking my advice because I look like their daughter's age.  Ultimately, over time, they learn that I know what I'm talking about but first impressions are important.  This is especially true when I'm am bidding on the work.  Something I've done is wear glasses - when I'm bidding for work or conducting interviews.  It's a little thing but I do look older.

All the advice about clothes and make-up are good, but a lot of it is how you present yourself (not clothes).  I've done coaching with women on how they talk. Check out the Ms. Career Girl site and search for "7 ways to earn more respect and influence as a young professional women".

Good luck!

BlushHoarder

(0) Hearts

Thank you for the website suggestion. I will check into it!

I completely agree that it is much more than clothes or makeup. But some things are easier to fix than others. I will certainly continue to work on all aspects.

I also appreciate your story. It is nice to relate to others :smileyhappy:

LCResz